Thread: Realtek RTL8190 PCI card and ndiswrapper help.

Beans

Question Realtek RTL8190 PCI card and ndiswrapper help.

I recently bought a Trendnet/Realtek wifi card for my computer. Stupid me, forgot to check to see if it works natively with Ubuntu...it doesn't. I'm still fairly new to ubuntu though I understand most of how and what things do, but I really need help with this one.
    What exactly is the process for getting this card to work in 9.10?
    And how do I use 'ndiswrapper' to go about it?

If someone could breakdown how to do this that'd be awesome. It'll really help me with learning more about how to go about things in linux.

Thanks a bunch!

-tlt

Beans

Re: Realtek RTL8190 PCI card and ndiswrapper help.

You can go to realtek website:
    http://www.realtek.com.tw/downloads/...Level=4&Conn=3
    There is no 8190 type. So you need to find out which one of the provided driver match your card.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu Studio 9.10 Karmic Koala

hey i have the exact same card (RTL8190) and I was wondering how you managed to get it working in Ubuntu. It would be nice to get Ubuntu fully functional on yet another one of my computers!

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 9.10 Karmic Koala

For some reason the Linux drivers with this card don't work with Ubuntu Karmic and Lucid anymore, and none of the Windows drivers via Ndiswrapper won't work either.

What I did was I scoured the internets for some drivers and eventually downloaded Realtek 819xP drivers (think I found them by searching 8192E drivers) and used their WinXP drivers with ndiswrapper to get it working.

Someone somewhere told that Lucid kernel (2.6.32-) would bring back the 8192E drivers so I upgraded my Karmic to Lucid but I'm still using ndiswrapper drivers with it. The connection with these drivers is a bit flaky so I need to investigate whether I can find the kernel drivers for this card.

The card I'm using is an A-Link Wireless-N 300 PCI card, but lspci lists it as Realtek RTL8190 card.