Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Automatic Mount of NAS

Beans
    Distro
    Lubuntu 20.04 Focal Fossa

Question Automatic Mount of NAS

I am very new to Linux, using Ubuntu 9.10 and enjoying the experience.

My Ubuntu computer is connected to my WLAN. On this WLAN, I also have a network attached storage (NAS) FreeBSD with FreeNAS. My current method to connect to the NAS must be done each time I log in to Ubuntu and consists of-
    • Places > Network - displaying the network:/// file browser.
    • Double click the NAS icon - displaying the smb://nas.local/ file browser.
    • Double click the Data icon - displaying the smb://nas.local/data/ file browser, mounts the drive and places a "data on nas.local" icon on the desktop.

I then close the file browser and, whenever I want to access the data on my NAS, double click the desktop icon to access the contents of my NAS.

What I would like to do is have this whole process automated so that it occurs at my login and I don't have to go through the process with each login.

Is this possible and how can it be done?

Beans

Re: Automatic Mount of NAS

Quote Originally Posted by rbscairns View Post
    Is this possible and how can it be done?
    Yes, possible indeed..

This is one of my entries in /etc/fstab for connecting to a Synology ds207+ NAS Device
    Code:
    //<IP_TO_NAS>/shared_folder /mnt/myfolder cifs user,uid=1000,rw,suid,credentials=/etc/credentials 0 0
    The shared_folder is the location on the NAS you need to have mounted, not sure how this works with your specific NAS.

You need to create folder /mnt/myfolder (name it as you wish)..
    From terminal-window, like so..
    Code:
    sudo mkdir /mnt/myfolder
    Where /etc/credentials is a file holding login-data for the NAS... (again, name it as you wish)
    Syntax:
    Code:
    username=john
    password=mypassword
    Create it from terminal-window like so..
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/credentials
    You need to have "smbfs" installed afaik.