Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: [SOLVED] Need driver for printer; pixma mx310

Beans

Question [SOLVED] Need driver for printer; pixma mx310

Hi, I'm trying this out because I've 'googled' for hours and haven't gotten anywhere. I'm using ubuntu hardy heron 8.04.

I have a canon pixma mx310 all in one printer. When I plug it in (usb) the printer is recognized, but when I try to print a test page I get the error 'client-error-document-format-not-supported'. I don't know why I would get this message, other than the fact that there's no driver (I had hoped that there was a generic driver pre-installed). I can't install the driver that comes on the setup CD because it's for windows.

I'm figuring that the driver is for windows too. If I'm wrong, maybe I could copy the right files somewhere and get it to work, but I wouldn't know what or where to copy.

If anyone knows of a driver that works well for this printer and linux I'd like to know. Since I'm an absolute beginner to linux, I would need some help installing it also.

Thank you.
    Sky

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin

Re: Need driver for printer; pixma mx310

you can use the mx150 (or 160... I'm not at home so I can't check now) for that printer. I have a 465 and the 150 driver works fine... no scanner though, that's a different story...
    "There are 10 types of people: Those who read binary and those who don't"
    >>>"who is general failure and why is he reading my files"<<<
    The Ubuntu Counter Project - user number # 22367
    Howto automount NTFS - My wallpaper

Beans

Ok, thanks for the quick response.

I spent a little more time looking for that driver, but I can't find it. It's harder to search when I don't know what to do with the driver if I find it.

Do you (or anyone else) have time to tell me where to get it, if the windows version will work, and/or how to install it?

Sky

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 12.04 Precise Pangolin