Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: USB optical mouse remains lit after shutdown

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Question USB optical mouse remains lit after shutdown

I've been using Linux live CDs (I've tried dozens) for 4+ years, but this is the first time I've actually installed Linux on my home PC. I'm running Ubuntu 9.10 (32 bit) and dual booting with WinXP.

My Logitech M-UR69 optical USB mouse stays on (the red light is on) after the system shuts down through Ubuntu. I've noticed the same thing with all other live Linux CDs I've used with this system. The problem does NOT occur when I shut the system down from WinXP, DOS, or BIOS setup. The motherboard is an ASUS A7N8X-Deluxe with the latest BIOS revision, and both the mouse and the motherboard are 5+ years old.

Any ideas on what could cause this? I've read several similar threads, but haven't found a solution.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 16.10 Yakkety Yak

Re: USB optical mouse remains lit after shutdown

Are you sure that it is totally shutting down (power light off), or is it possibly going into suspend (power light blinking?).

It is possible that something related to acpi or apic is allowing your system to appear to shutdown, but not completely. For an old PIII 550 I had a similar issue where the computer appeared to shutdown, disk spun down, but power supply remained on, although, it was using a PS/2 mouse, so I did not notice if USB still had power. I had to use lapic as additional kernel command line parameter for it to shut down completely.

If a fresh install (or if 9.04 to 9.10 upgrade was updated to grub2) kernel parameters would be set in /etc/default/grub (the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT line for regular boot and GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX for recovery boot). Then sudo update-grub.

Beans
    Distro
    Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx

Thanks, efflandt. So, are you saying I should modify /etc/default/grub to read: GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=lapic ?
    And yes, it is a fresh install.

Beans